Nato Status Of Forces Agreement Deutsch

  • Posted on: April 10, 2021
  • By:

For each mission abroad, the status of the Bundeswehr is governed by a bilateral or multilateral agreement with the host country. The status of NATO headquarters and its personnel is governed by the protocol on the status of the international military headquarters established under the North Atlantic Treaty of 28 August 1952 (Bundesgesetzblatt 1969 II P.2000). The complementary agreement to the Siege Protocol of 13 March 1967 also applies in Germany (agreement between the Federal Republic of Germany and the Higher Headquarters of the Allied Powers of Europe on the special conditions for the creation and operation of an international military headquarters in the Federal Republic of Germany, Bundesgesetzblatt 1969 II, p.2009). The presence of NATO troops stationed in Germany on the basis of a special agreement is subject to the NATO Agreement on the Status of the Armed Forces (SOFA) of 19 June 1951 (agreement between the contracting parties to the North Atlantic Treaty on the Status of their armed forces, Bundesgesetzblatt 1961 II p.1190) and the additional SOFA agreement of 3 August 1959 (agreement complementing the agreement between the contracting parties to the North Atlantic Treaty on the status of (Bundesgesetzblatt 1961 II P.1218). The additional agreement contains detailed provisions on all matters relating to troops stationed in Germany. Following German unification, it was deeply revised by the agreement of 18 March 1993 (Bundesgesetzblatt 1994 II, p.2594). After the end of the Second World War, the presence of foreign armed forces in Germany was primarily based on the law imposed by the occupying powers. This regime ended on 5 May 1955 with the entry into force of the agreement on relations between the three powers and the Federal Republic of Germany, on 26 May 1952 (Bundesgesetzblatt 1955 II, p.303). On 23 October 1954, the Convention on the Presence of Foreign Armed Forces in the Federal Republic of Germany (Bundesgesetzblatt 1955 p.253) between Germany and eight partners (Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America) established a contractual basis for the presence of military forces stationed in Germany.

This indeterminate agreement will remain in force even after the conclusion of the “two plus four” treaty (treaty on the final regime for Germany of 12, however, the Bundesgesetzblatt 1990 1990, p.1317), can now be terminated with a two-year period (change of bonds of 25 September 1990, Bundesgesetzblatt 1990 II p.1390 and 16 November 1990 , Bundesgesetzblatt 1990 p.1696). It does not yet apply, in principle, to Berlin, Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia (former GDR). An exchange of notes (September 25, 1990, cf. Bundesgesetzblatt 1990 II p.1251, Federal Law Gazette 1994 II p.29, and 12 September 1994, cf. Bundesgesetzblatt 1994 II, p.3716), granted the armed forces of France, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America, Belgium, Canada and the Netherlands the right to be present in these new lands. , including the reunification of Berlin, if the German authorities agree. The parties to the North Atlantic Treaty, signed in Washington on April 4, 1949, considering that the forces of one party may be deployed on the territory of another contracting party after consultation; Knowing that the decision on their deployment and the conditions under which they are communicated, if these conditions are not specified in this agreement, will continue to be the subject of separate agreements between the parties concerned; to define the situation of these forces on the territory of another party; The temporary deployment of the Partnership for Peace (PfP) armed forces and other third countries to Germany requires an agreement under the Visiting Forces Act of 20 July 1995 (Bundesgesetzblatt 1995, p.554, Bundesgesetzblatt 2002, p.2482).